[Logo] Enterprise Client Community
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
RISC-Client: Date/Int/... format <=> Language  XML
Forum Index -> Development
Author Message
CaptainCasa

Power User
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/11/2007 12:23:06
Messages: 5521
Offline

(from mail conversation)

The RISC client's language is determined via analyzing the browser's language settings by default. Buy you can define language and country from the server side application, by using component CLIENTCONFIG.

The country is defining the formatting of e.g. date, bigdecimal etc. data, while the language is defining the literals that are part of the RISC client (e.g. the days in the CALENDAR component, or the dialogs that show up if keying in wrong values).

So it is allowed to define "CH" as country and "fr" as language. In this case the client's texts are in French, but the date/decimal formatting is done following Swiss standards.

PLEASE NOTE: this is the client's language, we are talking about. - This is completely independent from the server language of you application literals. It's like having an German Excel (client language) inside running an English document (server language).

Björn Müller, CaptainCasa GmbH
heyl

Power User

Joined: 10/01/2008 09:41:55
Messages: 267
Location: Ettlingen
Offline

Hi,

how is the browser language determined in the RISC client?
We have a problem: when the browser language is Swedish, the HTTP header parameter "eclnt-language" is set to English. (We specially added clientliterals for Swedish, but they are not used...)

Best regards
Frauke
CaptainCasa

Power User
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/11/2007 12:23:06
Messages: 5521
Offline

Wew ask the browser (JavaScript below) and then try to find the corresponding languag/country setting that is available in our definitions.

If nothing found then "DE"/"de" is defaulted.

Regards, Björn




Code:
 RISCUtil.findBrowserLanguages = function()
 {   
     if (navigator.languages != null && navigator.languages.length > 0)
     {
         return navigator.languages;
     }
     var userLang = navigator.language || navigator.userLanguage;    
     var result = new Array();
     result.push(userLang);
     return result;
 };
 

Björn Müller, CaptainCasa GmbH
CaptainCasa

Power User
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/11/2007 12:23:06
Messages: 5521
Offline

...uuuh, when checking your scenario I see, that your JS-files are appended to the CaptainCasa ones. The determination of the language settings is directly executed, so at this point it does not know about your new languages...

We now shifted the language processing to the loading processing of the page, so that new languages are considered properly.

Fix is part of this week's update (planned to be published this afternoon/evening).

Thanks for your message! Björn

Björn Müller, CaptainCasa GmbH
heyl

Power User

Joined: 10/01/2008 09:41:55
Messages: 267
Location: Ettlingen
Offline

Hi Björn,

thanks. Are you sure the default is German? Not English or the system language? Because we get English (on a non-German system)

Best regards
Frauke
 
Forum Index -> Development
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.6 © JForum Team